Loeffert Jeffrey


Jeff Loeffert is the Assistant Professor of Saxophone and Music Theory at Oklahoma State University.​​

​Loeffert is a very active chamber musician. As a founding member of the h2 quartet, Loeffert has won numerous chamber music prizes including First Place – Gold Medal at the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition and First Place at the North American Saxophone Alliance Quartet Competition. The h2 quartet is featured on five commercially-available discs and received an Aaron Copland grant for their sophomore effort, Times & Spaces. The h2 quartet was also featured on a nationally-syndicated PBS television episode of Backstage Pass.
​Loeffert graduated Summa Cum Laude from Northwestern University with a Bachelor of Music double major in Saxophone Performance and Jazz Studies. A Frank Huntington Beebe scholar, Loeffert studied in Paris at the Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional de Cergy-Pontoise where he received the Medalle d’Or Unanimité and the Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional de Boulogne-Billancourt where he received the diploma Cycle d’Orientation Professionnel. Loeffert completed graduate studies at Michigan State University (MSU) as the recipient of a University Distinguished Fellowship. He received a Master of Music degree in Saxophone Performance and a Master of Music degree in Music Theory Pedagogy. At MSU, he was awarded the Paul Harder Award for music theory and composition. Loeffert received his Doctor of Musical Arts degree from MSU. Loeffert’s primary saxophone teachers include Bob Chreste, Jean-Yves Fourmeau, Jean-Michel Goury, Frederick L. Hemke, Joseph Lulloff, and Scott Plugge. Loeffert has also had additional studies with Griffin Campbell, Mike Kocour, and Kelland Thomas.
For more information on Jeff Loeffert, visit his website, www.jeffloeffert.com